The Leadership

The District Committee is the cornerstone of the union in Lebanon. Established in 1945 and chaired by Gerard Tufenkjian since 2008, its mission is to preserve and promote the Armenian heritage and identity in Lebanon. Over the years, the Committee has been chaired by Takvor Palanjian, Mihran Chelebi, Yervant Demirdjian, Garbis Nazarian, Hagop Altounian, Noubar Nazarian, and Avedis Demirdjian.

The current Committee, the 8th since its establishment, consists of the following members:

Gerard Tufenkjian, Chairman

Sylva Libaridian
Rafi Kamakian
Hovig Vartanian
Alexis Piranian
Vasken Hadidian
Sarkis Keuchguerian
Taline Bachian
Gary Nazarian
Arda Yanikian
Vicken Tchertchian
Mireille Khanamirian
Mike Vayejian
Krikor Sahakian
Arine Ghazarian (Executive Director)